A Diet Change for Life: Diagnosed with Celiac Disease

Two days after my eighteenth birthday, I got news that I had celiac disease.  This autoimmune disorder requires a strictly gluten free diet for the rest of your life.  However, unlike other gluten free diets, with celiac disease, you cannot cross contaminate food.  At the time, this was the end of the world for me. While I had heard of celiac disease before, I never thought it could happen to me.  My initial response was to shut down.  I locked myself in my room and cried.

When I was ready to face the reality of my new future, I immediately sat down at my computer.  I started with the basics.  I googled “Celiac Disease”.  Within seconds, millions of links came up.  I realized then that there were unlimited resources available to me on the Internet so I could learn how to approach this new lifestyle.

After exploring a variety of links, I found the website celiac.com.  This website was a reliable source.  Not only did it have posts from different people as they learned whether or not a restaurant or product upset their stomach, but there were also posts from professionals that work with the celiac foundation.  The celiac foundation is a nonprofit organization that raises money to find a cure for celiac disease.

It was then that I realized that I was not alone.  More and more people are being diagnosed with celiac disease and gluten intolerances.  As a result of the internet, I was able to understand that there are many options available to me through the world wide web.

Leave a Reply

