Gluten-Free Alcohol: You Have All Thought About It Once Before

SO you never want to ask, but I know you’ve thought about it before; especially after reading our blog: “What alcohol is gluten free?” All of you college kids out there, don’t you worry. I’ve done some research so all of you know what you can and can’t drink at a bar or any party.

First thing first, a BIG no-no is BEER! It’s made from malted barley. Keep away from the beer bongs and those beer games. However, there are some gluten free beers! Try Red Bridge, Bard’s, Estrella Damm Daura, and Green’s Endeavor. You can still join your friends if you stick to these.

YESgreens-endeavour

Sorry to say this, but another BIG NO is Smirnoff Ice and Bacardi Silver because they are made from malt.

😦 SMIRNOFF

Now, for what IS SAFE, which is a lot more than you’d expect. Here are some of the following: champagne, gin, scotch, whiskey, vermouth, vodka, bourbon, Kahlua, Armagnac, cognac, brandy, schnapps, triple sec, and Jagermeister.

Vodka is made from wheat, but during the distilling process, all of the gluten is extracted and is therefore safe for Celiacs. Try Svedka, Skyy, Absolut, Belvedere, Balinoff, Smirnoff, Grey Goose, Ciroc; they’re all okay. Most rums are gluten free EXCLUDING Bacardi Silver products. Be careful when consuming flavored or spiced rums as they could contain gluten ingredients for flavoring!

SKYY_Still_1_lo2

The easiest way to know if something’s gluten free before you drink it in a social setting is to grab your smartphone or your friend’s and google it. Better safe than sorry!

Hope this helps for you college Celiacs out there!

Check out this article on Huffington Post about Celiac Disease. Show it to your friends who want a simple explanation of the disease, or those who think they might need to be Gluten-Free!

AND if you are someone like me who loves information in the simplest form, check out this “Living Gluten-Free For Dummies” page. It’s a great “cheat sheet” and it pretty much sums it all up.

GF

 

AND ONLY REMEMBER THIS UNTIL AFTER YOU TURN 21 (if you are not of age yet)! If you are 21 and a celiac: here ya go! 

Remember to be RESPONSIBLE, LEGAL, && MOST IMPORTANTLY: SAFE

 

-Janice Vargas 🙂

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Alcohol: You Have All Thought About It Once Before

  1. I’ve worked in a restaurant and this is really relevant. People come in all of the time asking what gluten free items we have… as far as food and drinks. I was surprised by some of these results, but it’s really helpful to know. Another popular among the gluten free are ciders. I’d definitely look in to those.

    • I’m glad this was helpful for you dedelow! I am sure many people are not aware of this! I sure wasn’t until I looked more into it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s