LUNA & KIND: Yes, They’re GF!

Two of my favorite bars just happen to be gluten-free! KIND and LUNA protein Bars!!

  KIND

If you have never tried KIND gluten-free bars and granola, you are surely missing out. If you are a nut lover, you will definitely be into these; It may look like just another “health nut” bar, but it is so much more than that. With flavors like Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate (my personal favorite) and Dark Chocolate Cinnamon Pecan, you really can’t go wrong. If you don’t dig the whole chocolate thing as much as I do, KIND has you covered with several other flavors including Pomegranate Blueberry Pistachio and Cranberry Almond. Seriously, think of any fruit and nut combination and it’s probably available on KIND’s list.

KIND also has gluten-free granola and let me tell you, this stuff is the best. It’s a perfect topping for your morning serving of Greek yogurt and fruit! I simply ate the granola straight from the bag and ran into the problem of “I can’t stop eating this” and had to eventually hide it deep in the pantry.

LUNA-1024x1024

While I try not to eat protein bars on a daily basis, I do find a need to have them on hand on a busy day, or to pack in my bag just in case I can’t make it back to my apartment before a class. Sometimes it can be hard to find gluten-free bars that you not only like, but don’t cost an arm and a leg (oh, us college students). The reason why I like LUNA protein bars is that they taste delicious (because I love all of the chocolaty flavors), but they are also reasonably priced.

I often take advantage of the 10 for $10 sales at the grocery store, that way I keep the cost low and have enough bars to last a decent amount of time. My favorite flavor is the Mint Chocolate Chip. With 12g of protein and 3g of fiber, LUNA Mint Chocolate Chip protein bars help me to get my mint craving in without leaving behind the guilt that chocolate mint candy would. It’s pretty amazing! If you haven’t hopped on the LUNA protein bar train yet, I highly recommend it. Even though the website is marketed towards women, I don’t think any fella should be afraid to take advantage of these. Like I said, they’re available at regular grocery stores, so you won’t have to make a separate trip to the health food store, and you can even get them on sale from time-to-time. (Yes, gluten-free sale items DO exist!)

I enjoy these bars for a variety of reasons and not just the taste. There are several occasions where I’ve had to grab on the go while rushing from class to class, and the LUNA & KIND bars don’t make me feel guilty like other snack bars too. I get the taste I want (with some chocolate of course) while I receive quality nutrients!

These bars are great for fuel before a workout or run. There’s a fine line between eating too little and being famished after a run, and eating too much and then regretting it during the run. KIND & LUNA bars have solved that problem for me. Just this morning I grabbed a KIND bar to eat about 25 minutes before I went on a run and it was the absolute perfect amount of fuel that I needed. Grab your smart phone and look up these bars and see for yourself if they’re gluten-free! 🙂 So, if you need fuel before or after a great workout, you know what kind of bars will help!

-Janice Vargas

Leave a Reply

